The Gasworks Business Park lies half a mile south of Belfast city centre
Image by infomatique
The Gasworks Business Park lies half a mile south of the city centre between the river Lagan and one of the city’s main arterial routes – the Ormeau Road.
Managed by the council, this 12 hectare site is home to a diverse range of organisations and modern businesses. It also offers public access to the Lagan towpath for walkers and cyclists.
The site retains some of the original Gasworks buildings and also has a number of public art pieces including a unique water feature.
Work began on a gas making industry in 1822 on a site near Cromac dock, on ground owned by the Marquis of Donegall.
For over 150 years the Gasworks was the central power source for the rapid economic growth that put Belfast at the heart of Victorian commerce.
Coal gas created on the site powered the city’s street lights and the huge number of factories that were central to the city’s economic success at the time. Its profits were the major source of funding for building Belfast City Hall. By the end of the Second World War 120,000 customers were being supplied with gas.
By the 1960s, production had declined and the site stopped gas production in 1985.
The land was subsequently purchased by Belfast City Council in co-operation with the government and the Laganside Corporation. At that point, the land was heavily contaminated and unsuitable for most uses. The council, with funding from the European Union, undertook major work to turn this derelict and heavily polluted city centre Brownfield site into a modern business park. The redevelopment won the 1998 RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors) Award for Reclamation.
The park hosts a wide range of enterprises including a 132 Radisson SAS hotel, the Halifax Centre, shops, small enterprise workshops, own-door offices, purpose-built business units. Currently, some 2,500 people work there.